It’s Lent, time to give up things

Posted: February 18, 2015 in Goals
Tags: ,

I’m not religious. I went to Christian schools, but the concept of Lent was always a mystery to me and I hadn’t even heard about it until I moved to the UK. I do like the concept of it tho, if only to try out some new habits.

Now Lent is normally about giving up something for 40-something days. This years Lent will end at 2 April and I had a long and hard think about what I wanted to give up, but also to reflect to myself and make things better for myself in the end.

So for Lent 2015 I’m giving up the following:

Restarting the diet:Β I’m on day 3 now and it feels like I’m mentally ready to do it now. Considering that Lent will give me at least 40 days to keep on track, I can only see myself pushing for 100 days eventually (my ultimate goal).

–Β Feeling guilty about doing absolutely nothing:Β I am not the kind of person who can just do ‘nothing’ and be ‘unproductive’, but after some chats on twitter I realized that it’s not making me happier and it is all about my body and mind recovering in some down time.

Spending money on new games when I still have to finish my old ones:Β I think this is very self explanatory

Giving up bacon would be incredibly hard.

Giving up bacon would be the ultimate lent challenge.

Β Are you giving up anything on Lent?

Comments
  1. Missy's Mojo says:

    Hmm, I have never heard about Lent. I am not religious at all, so guess that might be the reason. If I was to give up something, it would be soda, on of the things I am most addicted to. I can try drinking less of it, but I don’t think I can go cold turkey. Maybe eventually !
    Good luck on your diet πŸ™‚

    • antlergirl says:

      Thank you! Yeah I hadn’t heard about it until I moved and I saw people on fb talking about it. Giving up soda was hard for me, but with this diet I won’t be having any. Can’t give up my coffee tho or I would start and murder everyone around me πŸ˜‰

  2. I’m giving up swearing…this may be a struggle lol

Leave a Reply

