Progress

Posted: June 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’ve lost 11.5 lbs in 6 weeks. I’m quite proud of myself. If I compare it to my previous losses on the Cambridge diet, it’s almost nothing. I used to lose about a stone in a month. However, I was not working out this hard. How could I on just 500 calories a day. I’ve learned that faster, isn’t always better. I am eating nice food and have a treat if my calorie-intake allows it and I am also working out. In fact, I am actually starting to run. I’m still mostly jogging on my runs, but the last 2 minutes I try to increase my speed and it’s not killing me so far. Six weeks ago I couldn’t even run for a full minute and now I’m running 20 minutes in a row. This Saturday I have to run 25 minutes in one go. Slowly I’m working my way up to 30 minutes and once I can do that, I will start working on speed.

In November there is a 10 kilometre run and I really want to sign up for it. It has given me a goal and I want to achieve it!

I haven’t had much inspiration lately to draw or pick up any new games. It’s really horrible. I am just so tired (must be all the running 😉 )

Image

Comments
  1. Ambermist says:

    Woot! Congrats! Faster usually means temporary in the weight loss world–you stop dieting and lose results. Working out and eating well for your body goes a loooong way. Nicely done! 😀

    • antlergirl says:

      Thank you and you are so right! I found that out a year ago. Lost loads of weight really quickly, but didn’t learn anything about eating healthy. Now I have to redo it a bit but the right way 😀

  2. biophazer242 says:

    I always try to advise people that changing my lifestyle had a more profound effect on my health and weight then changing my diet. Anyone can count the calories, but to really have a positive long term result you need to understand how everything works nutrition wise and change all aspects of your life. It is amazing how much more energy people I train with display when they do simple things like going to bed earlier or making sure to have a small snack between meals. Ambermist is of course spot on too, I have had so many people shed pounds to run an event with me then pile it right back on only to come back months later and try and drop it again.

    Congratulations on making the change and keep plowing ahead!

    • antlergirl says:

      I have to admit I’m still counting calories, but I’m staying well above 500 😉 I think my range is 1200 – 1600 also depending how much I work out during a day.I try to do all the things that you said in your post too! Trying to get enough sleep, eating small snacks between meals so my bloodsugar levels don’t get too low and I drink a lot of water. 😀 Thank you for your reply ^^

  3. biophazer242 says:

    I am curious as to why you were on a 500 calorie a day diet? That is very extreme and actually works against burning the fat cells of your body.

    • antlergirl says:

      Because it worked for me and some of my friends who did it before me. I had a lot of weight to shed and it gave me very good results, except that my metabolism was messed up in the end. I haven’t gained it all back, only 1/3 in total.

  4. biophazer242 says:

    There is no question that it would work.. that is close to starvation levels of calorie intake 🙂

    I find some trainers are to set in their opinions and think one size fits all, I however believe that each person has to discover what works best for their body AND their mind and apply it over time. My ex-wife was big into lifting weights while I am of course a runner, our diets were sooooo drastically different that actually caused fights!

Leave a Reply

