The Loser

Posted: May 12, 2012 in health

Time for some health updates!

Well, after 2 weeks of running, cross circuit training and eating healthy I can definitely see a change in my body. First things first, the weight loss for this week: -1.5lbs I’m happy with this. I would have loved a solid 2lbs, but it’s a loss and that is what counts in the end. I guess that my clothes are starting to loosen a lot also shows that it’s working for me.

Now for the activity levels; I was very hesitant of going up to week two of C25K, but when I actually did I was really amazed with how well I did. I can’t do it completely and it seems that my second 90 seconds run always seems to fail. That could be a wall I need to break through, but so far I am really impressed with myself. My knee is getting better too. I have days that after working out it hurts, but it always seems to sort itself out and while running I feel no pain and I don’t collapse into my knee.

The 30 day shred is now finished for level 1. I do see a lot of progress with that too. I was panting for the first few days and I’m not saying its easy now, but it’s easier compared to those first few sessions. On Monday I will be starting level 2 of the shred, and I’ve already heard it is much, much harder then level 1. I predict a lot of pain in my future. All in all, it’s been a long time since I was this active and I’m quite proud for sticking to my work out regime.

Food wise I’ve been good. I’m logging all my calories and preparing meals goes quicker and I’m actually enjoying the quest for low calorie meals that are still nom-worthy. I’ve also noticed how much of a glutton I’ve been. For example; normally I would eat half of a fajita kit easily, but looking at those calories I should really only eat a quarter of it. I did so today and even though I loved to have eaten more, it was enough. That is the weird thing, I have to tell myself that I am full and I don’t need to eat it all. Small steps, but I’m on the right track.

Comments
  1. biophazer242 says:

    I just found your blog via Biobreak and the NBI and was glad to see the bits about working out and such. People often find it hard to believe I do both 🙂 Anyways, I know you are using a diet/workout system already but if you get into serious running or biking I recommend the site mapmyrun.com It is a wonderful site that you can use to plan out routes and it will calculate distances and even calories for you if you like. They have a paid version but I still use the free version after 3 plus years.

  2. biophazer242 says:

    Well I know it is cheesy, but those first baby steps are the hardest. Once you get into the habit then it is all just muscle memory and it becomes as easy as breathing. Unless you live in a town with really bad air pollution… then stick to a treadmill 🙂

Leave a Reply

